2009 Stutz Artists Association Residency Winners Announced

The Stutz Artists Association is proud to announce the winners of the 2009-2010 Stutz Studio Residency Program, Patrick Flaherty and Lydia Burris.

Valued at $6,000 per artist, the residency is one of the largest grants to an individual artist in the state.


Patrick Flaherty

Flaherty, 29, is a painter and printmaker with a Masters of Art and Bachelor's of Fine Art from Ball State University. He is head of the printmaking department at the Indianapolis Art Center as well as the exhibitions associate. Flaherty's work has been exhibited at the Indianapolis Art Center, Wug Laku's Studio and Garage, Studio One (Murphy Building), Ashland Gallery and more.

Lydia Burris

Burris, 29, is an emerging Indianapolis artist. She is a mixed-media painter and illustrator. In 2005, she received an MFA from the Norwich School of Art and Design in Norwich, England. She received a BA from Indiana University-Bloomington with a double major in Fine Arts and "Illustration of Mythology," a study through the Independent Major Program. Burris has been pursuing her art career in Indianapolis since 2007, showing in exhibits at Dean Johnson Gallery, Broad Ripple Art and Design, Big Car Gallery, Harrison Art Center, and the Wheeler Arts Community. She has also participated in events such as Art vs. Art and Masterpiece in a Day. She is the recipient of the 2009 Visual Fringe People's Choice award.

About the Stutz Residency Grants

Funding for the Stutz Residency Grants comes from proceeds from the association's annual open house. More information on the Stutz Open House can be accessed by clicking here. In addition to the open house, the association hosts monthly daytime First Friday events as well as an Annual Holiday Exhibition.

Since its inaugural year in 1996, the residency program has provided in-kind contributions of more than $72,000 to 13 local artists. Previous residents are Ginny Taylor Rosner, Jay Parnell, David Kleeman, Kate Oberreich, Kevin Smola, Ismaila "Izo" Nidaye, Stephanie Robertson, Larry Endicott, Kyle Ragsdale, Jan Zoya, Susan Watt Grade, Emily Kennerk, Greg Hull, Mark Pack and William Denton Ray.

The Stutz Artists Association is the largest association of working artists in Indiana. It exists to encourage its member artists and to promote their work. The historic Stutz Business Center is located at 1060 North Capitol Avenue on an entire city block in downtown Indianapolis. The 400,000-square-foot former car factory was renovated in the early 1990s and its studios and office space are now home to more 80 artists, sculptors, photographers, designers, architects and craftsmen.

Click here for a printable press release document (Adobe Acrobat format, will open in a new window).

Artists interested in applying for a residency can click here to access the Stutz Artists Association Residency information page.

More information on the residency program can be obtained by contacting the Stutz Artists Association.