2017 Stutz Artists Residency Winners Announced

The Stutz Artists Association is excited to announce that Shelby Alexander and Rebecca Zink have been selected as Residents in the 2017 Stutz Studio Residency Program. Read more about the Residencey Program here.



Shelby Alexander  

Shelby Alexander


Shelby Alexander is a multi-disciplinary maker with a background in figurative painting and drawing. Her newest body of work combines textiles with traditional drawing techniques, creating mixed media explorations of the relationship between humans and their natural environment.

Visit her website here.

Work by Shelby Alexander   Work by Shelby Alexander



Rebecca Zink

Rebecca Zink


Rebecca Zink is a jeweler who challenges the idea of value by bringing blue-collar materials into the jewelry realm. By highlighting them against materials of greater value, she reveals their beauty. With techniques influenced from a shop environment, she emphasized contrast in materials.  

View her work on Instagram.

Piece by Rebecca Zink   Piece by Rebecca Zink



As the 2017 Stutz Residency winners, Shelby and Rebecca have been awarded free studio space and utilities in the Stutz Business and Arts Center for one year, from October 2017 through September 2018.

About the Stutz Residency Program

Funding for the residency program comes from proceeds from the association's annual Raymond James Stutz Artists Open House each April. In addition to the open house, the Stutz Artists Association hosts monthly First Friday events, including open studios and monthly exhibition openings in the Raymond James Stutz Art Gallery. Since its inaugural year in 1996, the residency program has provided in-kind contributions of more than $135,000 to 31 local artists.

Previous residents include:
2016: Sean Hurley and John Klinkose
2014: Cheryl Lorance and Marna Shopoff
2013: David Hicks and Lucas Schooler
2012: Lauren Kussro and Heather Stamenov
2011: Joseph Crone and Emily Budd
2010: Mallory Marty and Brian Myers
2009: Patrick Flaherty and Lydia Burris
2008: William Denton Ray and Mark Pack
2007: Ginny Taylor Rosner and Jay Parnell
2006: Kate Oberreich and David Kleeman
2005: Kevin Smola
2004: Ismalia "Izo" Ndaiye
2003: Stephanie Lewis Robertson
2002: Larry Endicott
2001: Kyle Ragsdale
2000: Jan Zoya
1999: Susan Watt Grade
1998: Emily Kennerk
1997: Greg Hull

About the Stutz Artists Association

The Stutz Artists Association is one of the largest associations of working artists in Indiana. It exists to encourage its member artists and to promote their work.

About the Stutz Business Center

The historic Stutz Business Center is at 212 West 10th Street on an entire city block in downtown Indianapolis. The 400,000-square-foot former car factory was renovated in the early 1990s and its studios and office space are now home to more 80 artists, sculptors, photographers, designers, architects and craftsmen.

Artists interested in applying for a residency can click here to access the Stutz Artists Association Residency information page.

More information on the residency program can be obtained by contacting Stutz Artists Association.